I Am Noah!

Everyone knows the story of Noah & the Flood. He preached endlessly, built an ark, and God loaded it with animals. I want to skip right to the part where he sent out the raven and the doves. Noah was tired of his situation. He knew and trusted that God had brought him there. Just because he knew the plan, believed and trusted God, did not mean he would not grow tired.

Have you been to a zoo? All open air and each breed secluded to their own areas. Even still the stench! One could only hope that God softened the smell and calmed the animals so their natural-born instincts to attack would be none existent. After all God thinks of everything. But I imagine it was not a sweet-smelling petting zoo at all times on that tiny ark.

Through trial comes reward.

I have often thought with my judgment mind, “if he trusted God why didn’t he just sit there patiently and wait for the door to open when God was ready?” Noah was a modern-day Christian. You know, like me and you. Just because you Love and Trust God, read your Bible and pray everyday does not mean you will not get discouraged. It is the #1 side effect of being a human. We often grow impatient.

So, yeah, Noah grew weary. He wanted to know that the end of this terrible time was near. He did not lose his Faith or Trust in God. He was just plain tired of his situation. And guess what? God did not punish him for questioning! God sealed the door but allowed the window to be opened. God allowed Noah to question when the end was near. Three times Noah grew weary and three times God allowed it. And three times God answered.

Genesis 8:6-12  (NIV)

After forty days Noah opened a window he had made in the ark and sent out a raven, and it kept flying back and forth until the water had dried up from the earth. Then he sent out a dove to see if the water had receded from the surface of the ground. But the dove could find nowhere to perch because there was water over all the surface of the earth; so it returned to Noah in the ark. He reached out his hand and took the dove and brought it back to himself in the ark. 10 He waited seven more days and again sent out the dove from the ark. 11 When the dove returned to him in the evening, there in its beak was a freshly plucked olive leaf! Then Noah knew that the water had receded from the earth. 12 He waited seven more days and sent the dove out again, but this time it did not return to him.

Much like Noah, I have been on this boat for a while now. Not that I now doubt God’s Will nor have I lost Faith. I have just grown weary. I am tired. It has not been a pleasant situation. I knew this when I boarded my ark and watched as God filled it with animals. I know the storm will stop eventually. The deep waters will subside. And all of Earth will be mine.

I have sent forth my Raven. I have sent forth my Dove. And I have released my Dove once again. I am waiting. Wish I could say patiently. It is a struggle. My Faith is still strong, but I am tired. I am still holding to His promise. After all it is all I have left.

Author:

So, this is my life. I am both happy and sad and I am still trying to figure out how that could be.

Leave a Reply

